No More New Clothes! We’ll see how long I can stick to this.

Lately I have been on a mission to get things cleaned out and organized. I have far too much stuff and I want to do more with less in my house. Sometimes I feel a bit bogged down by all of the things I have accumulated over the years. I have decided to take on a personal challenge of not buying any new clothes for awhile. I don’t have a time frame in mind. I am just going to see how long I can do this. I think it will be fun remaking things I don’t wear any longer.

Over the holiday weekend I decided to redo a sweater that had shrunk a little. I saw a pin for making a pullover into a cardigan, but the link to the tutorial was bad so I improvised with my sweater figuring it would not be too difficult, and it wasn’t at all. It took about 35 minutes start to finish.

I started with a simple v-neck pullover sweater. I cut the front of the sweater right down the middle using a rotary cutter.

IMG_20141129_095914_112

I zigzagged stitched the new opening on the front of the sweater.

IMG_20141129_095844_295IMG_20141129_101856_831

Added some trim I had on hand.

IMG_20141129_104715_693

Sewed on a vintage button (from my Grandma’s button tin) and some rick rack to hold it closed at the top.

All finished. This was really easy and I plan to do a few more soon.

Leave a Reply

